How do you detach a central file in Revit?

How do you change a file from central to local in Revit?

Use this procedure if you have already opened the central model, and you want to create a local copy of it.

  1. Click File tab Save As (Project).
  2. In the Save As dialog, navigate to the desired location on the Revit Server network or on your hard drive.
  3. Enter a name for the file, and click Save.

Should I detach from central Revit?

If you choose to discard worksets, you discard the worksets and all related element assignments and visibility settings. These cannot be restored. However, you can create new worksets in the model. If you detach from the central model, you cannot synchronize with other user’s edits to the central model.

Why can’t I detach from central Revit?

The network connection/resource is busy, or disconnected (likely culprit) Someone is creating a local at the same moment (less often, but happens) Opening a file created in a newer version of Revit (less often) File is a Local file (user copied a local over a central)

How do I make a Revit model a central file?

Create a Central Model from an Existing Workshared Model

  1. Open the existing workshared file.
  2. Click File tab Save As (Project).
  3. In the Save As dialog, rename the file, and click Options.
  4. In the File Save Options dialog, select Make this a Central Model after save.
  5. Select a default workset for local copies.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I change the revision symbol in SolidWorks?

Can you have two Revit files open at once?

Try to open the different revit project files inside the same revit session (CTR + O). You should be able to get all in the same revit session.

What is a Revit central model?

Enabling worksharing involves creating a master project model, known as a central model, from an existing model. The central model stores the current ownership information for all worksets and elements in the project, and acts as the distribution point for all changes made to the model.

How do you purge in Revit?

Go to “Manage” tab > “Purge Unused” (under Settings panel), select “Check All” to automatically purge unnecessary model elements. Also, remove unused Links. Got to “Manage” > “Manage Links” (under Manage Project panel). Click through the tabs to remove all the links (AutoCAD and Revit Links) from the file.

How do I sync Revit files?

To save your changes locally, use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+S. To save your changes to the central model using the current settings, click the Collaborate tab > Synchronize panel > Synchronize with Central drop-down > Synchronize Now.

How do I unlock a Revit file?

Tip: You can’t lock Revit Cloud Worksharing files. Right-click the selected document and click Lock. To unlock a document, right-click it and click Unlock.

How do I enable Workharing in Revit?

Enable Worksharing

  1. Open the project file (RVT) to use as the central model.
  2. Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). …
  3. If desired, rename the worksets.
  4. In the Worksharing dialog, click OK. …
  5. In the Worksets dialog, click OK. …
  6. Click File tab Save As (Project).
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I turn off draft tooltip in AutoCAD?

How do Revit Worksets work?

When you make a workset editable in Revit, you are taking exclusive ownership of all objects in it. Only one user can exclusively edit each workset at a given time. All team members can view worksets owned by other team members, but they cannot always make changes to them.